28th Louisiana Mid-Amateur Championship


Squire Creek Country Club, Choudrant, LA 
54 holes, Stroke Play
Friday, August 9 - Sunday, August 11, 2019


Defending Champion: Hank Shaheen, Dequincy, LA

Click here for hard copy entry forms.


The Louisiana Golf Association Mid-Amateur Championship is a 54 hole event for Louisiana residents 25 years of age or older. Entries are open to any Louisiana resident (as of at least 90 days prior to August 9, 2019) who is an amateur golfer holding membership in a LGA member club in good standing. Entrants must possess a certified USGA Handicap Index of 8.0 or less.

Entry Deadline: Tuesday, July 2, 2019 5:00 PM CST

Entry Fee: $225, plus cart fee for qualifying round only. Important note: Entrants not successful in qualifying for Championship rounds play will receive a refund of $100 at the conclusion of the Mid-Amateur Championship. For those who qualify for Championship rounds play, there are not additional fees. Starting times for qualifying rounds will be available by contacting the golf shop at the appropriate qualifying site on or after July 5, 2019. Please call early as the golf shop could be closed the day prior to the Qualifier. 

Refund Policy: Entry fee will be refunded regardless of reason if LGA office is notified, in writing, before 5:00 PM CST on July 2, 2019. After 5 PM on July 2, 2019, fee will be refunded only in the event of injury or illness provided notification (accompanied by a doctor’s statement) reaches LGA office by August 9, 2019. A $45 service charge will be deducted from all refunds. 

Eligibility: Entries are open to any Louisiana resident (as of at least 90 days prior to August 9, 2019) who is an amateur golfer (as defined by the USGA) holding membership in a LGA member club in good standing (2019 club and individual dues must be paid). Entrants must be 25 years of age by midnight, August 9, 2019, and possess a certified USGA Handicap Index of 8.0 or less computed through the LGA Handicap Network. Non-amateurs are not eligible. Entries are subject to rejection at any time (including during the Championship) by the LGA. Reasons for rejection may include unbecoming conduct.

Format of Play: Schedule: Competition will be in two stages of stroke play. 
1.  Sectional Qualifying: 18 holes, for all except exempt participants. 
2.  Championship rounds: A field of 144 players will be accepted. 

Championship will be over 54 holes (3 days x 18 holes/day).

Friday, August 9/First Round, 18 holes; Saturday, August 10/Second Round, 18 holes (60 lowest scorers and ties will continue play August 11; remainder eliminated after 36 holes).
Sunday, August 11/Final Round, 18 holes.

Lowest scorer for 54 holes will be 2019 LGA Mid-Amateur Champion.

Practice Privileges: Practice round availability for qualifying events is at the discretion of the club hosting the qualifying event. Please contact the club where you will be qualifying for more information. Practice privileges are extended to participants in Championship Round play at Squire Creek Country Club on August 8. Cart fee paid by LGA. Call the golf shop at Squire Creek CC on or after August 1, 2019 to schedule a practice round. 

Prizes/Playoff: Gift Certificates will be awarded to the top 20 finishers in the Championship. The Mid-Amateur Champion will also receive a Crystal Trophy signifying the 2019 Mid-Amateur Championship. In case of a tie for the Championship, a sudden death playoff will take place immediately upon conclusion of play on Sunday. 

WAGR: As part of their expanding relationship to govern the game globally, the USGA partners with the R&A in compiling and publishing the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR). This LGA Championship is a WAGR counting event, and the results will be sent to the R&A in St Andrews, Scotland. A primary purpose of the WAGR is to provide exemptions into USGA and R&A amateur championships for top ranked amateur golfers. The rankings are updated every Wednesday at 12:00 noon, Greenwich Mean Time. Additional information about the WAGR and the current rankings may be found at  

Rules of Golf: Play will be governed by the current Rules of Golf and LGA Rules of Play Card. All questions will be settled by the LGA Rules Committee,whose decision will be final.


HEADQUARTERS HOTEL: Squire Creek Golf Houses, single rooms with queen beds $95/night and King suites $120/night. The golf houses are located on the Squire Creek property just a short walk from the clubhouse adjacent to the pool. Each room has it's own bathroom, Flat screen TV and Wifi access. The unique floor plan and security allows for the rooms to be individually reserved or reserved as a group. To make your reservations please contact the Lodges at Squire Creek CC at 318-768-7000, be sure to identify yourself as a Louisiana Mid-Amateur Competitor. Rooms will be released for general use on July 25, reservations made after this date will be on a space available basis.

Qualifying Exemptions are offered to those players that meet all eligibility requirements and are in the following categories: 


1.Top 40 and ties from the 2018 LGA Mid-Amateur Championship.

2.LGA Mid-Amateur Champions of the last 10 years (2009-18).

3.LGA Amateur Champions of the last 10 years (2009-18).

4.LGA Senior Amateur Champions of the last three years (2016, 2017, 2018).

5.All Amateur qualifiers to the 2018 U.S. Open, U.S. Amateur, U.S. Mid-Amateur, U.S. Senior Open, and U.S. Senior Amateur Championships.


2019 Louisiana Mid-Amateur Exemptions
Alex Malmay Mangham Greg Berthelot Baton Rouge
Andrew Noto Metairie Hank Shaheen Dequincy
Anthony Alfonso Baton Rouge Jacob Broussard Lafayette
B.C. Thibeaux Lafayette James Fuselier Laplace
Bart Dornier Metairie James Hamilton Lafayette
Ben Dupont Lafayette Jeff Lorio New Orleans
Bill Land Lafayette Jeramy Worsham Gonzales
Billy Gabbert Sulphur Jeremy Gautreaux Prairieville
Billy Guilbeaux Lafayette John Dupont Thibodaux
Blaine Patin Greenwell Springs Ken Buchan Monroe
Buck Williams New Orleans Matt Nicholas Lake Charles
Cade Hebert Abbeville Neithan Allen Lake Charles
Chuck Laudermill Greenwell Springs Page Breaux St. Gabriel
Clinton Shepard Maurice Patrick Christovich New Orleans
Dante Caldera Greenwell Springs Peter D'Arcy Shreveport
Dennis Smith Youngsville Phillip Frazier Baton Rouge
Derek Busby Ruston Robby Going Lake Charles
Douglas Dupont Monroe Robby McWilliams Benton
Eddie Lyons Shreveport Rod Baronet Alexandria
Eric Ricard Shreveport Scott Haynie Brusly
Felipe Del Solar St. Francisville Seth Dufrene Luling
Frank Briseno Harhan Todd McPherson New Orleans
Garrett Theriot St. Martinville Tory Miller Carencro
Grady Brame Hammond Will Daigle Lafayette