87th WV Open Championship Information


2020 Coke Shootout Participants:

Professionals: David Bradshaw, Davey Jude, Kyle Long, Thadd Obecny, Craig Berner 

Amateurs: Josef Dransfeld, Philip Reale, Tad Tomblin, Owen Elliott, Jess Ferrell


Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers with an active GHIN Handicap Index through a WVGA Member Club and Professionals who are "Regular Members" of the West Virginia Golf Association. Please Reference WVGA Policies and Procedures for further details. (WVGA Policies & Procedures)


Format: The WV Open Championship is a 54-hole stroke play championship with the field cut to the low 60 players and ties at the completion of 36 holes.


Field Size: The maximum field size is 132 Players


Practice Round: The designated practice round date it Monday, June 22nd. The practice round fee of  ____$50_____will be payable directly to the host club.


Championship Yardage: Approximately 7,000 yards.


Player Registration: Player registration information will be distributed to successful qualifiers prior to the championship.


Cart Fees: Players will be required to pay a cart fee of $___$25____directly to The Resort at Glade Springs prior to each round of the championship.


Spectator Carts: Spectator carts will not be permitted during this championship with the exception of a spectator who can provide an issued and active Handicap Permit. Final decision will be made by the WVGA Executive Director.


Caddies: Caddies are permitted during the championship. Players are responsible for supplying their own caddie. Caddies may ride in golf carts if it adheres to the WVGA cart policy and their is an available seat. * WVGA Cart Policy - there will be a maximum of 2 carts per group and 2 individuals per cart. *


Pairings: Pairings for Round 1 & 2 will be released and updated on the WVGA website by Friday, June 19th. Pairings will also be included in the Player Information that will be emailed to each player by Friday, June 19th.


Awards / Gift Certificates / Pro Purse: The champion will be awarded a trophy at the conclusion of play. Top amateur finishers will be awarded gift certificates and top professionals will be awarded cash.


POY Points: State Player of the Year points will  be awarded to the top 20 finishers. Points will be updated following the conclusion of the championship.


Electronic Measuring Devices: Electronic devices that measure distance only are permitted for this championship.


USGA Groove Condition of Competition (Not in Effect): The USGA groove rules effective January 1, 2010 are NOT in effect for this competition.


Score Posting: At the conclusion of the championship each players score will be automatically posted as a "C" or competition score to the GHIN handicap system. Please do not enter your own scores from the competitve rounds as this will result in a double post.


Withdrawal Policy: In the event of a tournament withdraw; the player must notify the West Virginia Golf Association Office at 304-391-5000 no later than one week prior to the tournament. If withdraw is made prior to tournament deadline, the player may receive a refund regardless of reason less a $20 administrative fee. For a withdraw made after the entry deadline, the player may receive a refund only if player has experienced a sudden illness or injury, and only if the West Virginia Golf Association is notified prior to the first round of the tournament. All refund request must be submitted in writing to Chris Slack.


Host Hotel: The Resort at Glade Springs


Inn: $139

Executive Suites: $119


West Virginia Open Championship Schedule of Events:


Sunday, June 21, 2020
TBD - Pro-Am Team Registration & Lunch
TBD - Shotgun Start for Pro-Am

Following Golf – Pro-Am Awards Ceremony


Monday June 22, 2020
Contestant Practice Rounds
3:30PM - Coca-Cola Shootout 

Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Round 1 - Starting at 8:00AM off #1 and #10 tees


Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Round 2 - Starting at 8:00AM off #1 and #10 tees

Cut to low 60 players and ties


Thursday, June 25, 2020
Final Round - Starting at 8:00AM off #1 tee
Awards Ceremony following play