Butler Country Club will play host to the 113th Western Pennsylvania Open Championship.  This will be the 8th time Butler has hosted the Open in its long history.  Thirty-three former WPGA Champions, including thirteen former winners of the Open Championship will vie for the Harry Millholland Vase.  Last contested at Butler in 2008, Nathan Smith claimed victory, the last amateur to win the championship.  Five-time winner, Roy Vucinich who won the championship at Butler in 1993 will set his sights on a record 6th victory in the Open.  Butler Country Club Golf Professional, Rob McClellan was victorious in 2011 at Nevillewood and was runner-up in 2015.  Oakmont Country Club’s Devin Gee in the defending champion.


The number of entries for the competition was 182 and the starting field, determined through qualifying rounds and exemptions, consists of 84 players, thirty-four professionals and fifty amateurs.  The championship is 54 holes played over three rounds with a cut to the top 32 and ties after 36 holes.  The professional purse will be $32,500. 


Winners of the West Penn Open have claimed victory in all four of golf’s majors, the Masters (Arnold Palmer), U.S. Open (Ed Furgol, Arnold Palmer, Sam Parks, Lew Worsham), British Open (Jock Hutchison, Arnold Palmer) and PGA Championship (Jock Hutchison).