Welcome to the "118th Western Amateur Championship" Event Portal


This website will contain both information for players in the field and those following along at home. 


The Western Amateur has been a prestigious national tournament since its founding in 1899. Many of the great names in golf have etched their names on the George R. Thorne Trophy, but many more were unable to conquer the grueling test.


Each year, 156 invited players come from across the globe to play one of the toughest formats in amateur golf. The field will play 18 holes of individual stroke play on Tuesday and Wednesday, after which it is cut to the low 44 scores and ties. The remaining players will play 36 holes of individual stroke play on Thursday to determine the low 16 finishers. The “Sweet Sixteen” will compete in Match Play on Friday and Saturday to decide the champion.


Crooked Stick Golf Club will host its first Western Amateur in 2020 as the championship visits Indiana for just the third time in its storied history. Located in Carmel, Indiana, a suburb north of Indianapolis, Crooked Stick is one of the crowning achievements of famed course architect Pete Dye.  The club was established in 1967 and hosted the 1991 PGA Championship, won by John Daly, and the 1993 U.S. Women’s Open, won by Lauri Merten. In 2012, Crooked Stick hosted the Western Golf Association’s BMW Championship, with Rory McIlroy winning the FedExCup playoff event. The BMW Championship returned to Crooked Stick in 2016, when Dustin Johnson won with a record-breaking score of 23-under par.  Ranked among the top 100 courses in the United States by Golf Digest, Crooked Stick Golf Club promises to provide a stern test to competitors at the 2020 Western Amateur.




Designed by Pete Dye (1976). Measures over 7,500 yards from the championship tees. Par 72. 


Thank you for visiting, and best wishes to our participants!



Have a smartphone? Download the Golf Genius app for iPhone, iPad and Android for live scoring and leaderboards!