Welcome to the 119th Western Amateur Championship Event Portal


This website will contain both information for players in the field and those following along at home


The Western Amateur is renowned for being the toughest test in amateur golf. It has been a prestigious national championship since its founding in 1899. Many of golf's greatest players have etched their names on the George R. Thorne Trophy, but many more were unable to conquer the grueling format.


The field features 156 invited players from across the world. They play 18 holes of individual stroke play on Tuesday and Wednesday, after which the field is cut to the low 44 scores and ties. The remaining players play 36 holes of individual stroke play on Thursday to determine the low 16 finishers. The "Sweet Sixteen" compete in match play on Friday and Saturday to decide a champion.


The Western Amateur will return to its roots in 2021 when it visits the Glen View Club. This historic club hosted the inaugural Western Amateur, won by David Forgan, in 1899. The championship returned in 1905, when H. Chandler Egan was the winner.  Built more than 120 years ago, the Glen View Club has also hosted the Western Open (1899), the U.S. Amateur (1902) and the U.S. Open (1904).


Location: Golf, IL
Architect: Richard Leslie, Herbert J. Tweedie (1897); Tom Bendelow (1910); Harry Colt, Donald Ross (1913); William Flynn (1922)

Head Golf Professional:  Kyle Bauer

Golf Course Superintendent:  Brian Moore
Yardage: 6,928
Par: 70


Thank you for visiting, and best wishes to our participants!