2-Man Match Medal

The winner of each match is responsible for promptly reporting match results:

  1. Complete the Match Play Form in the pro shop.
  2. If you forget, email match results to bdgcnews@gmail.com
If you require any other assistance, contact bdgcnews@gmail.com.


  • Format: 2-man teams play hole-by-hole matches throughout the season as determined by the brackets. The team with the lowest total net score wins each hole (or holes are halved if tied). The winning team of each match advances to the next round.
  • Use 100% of current course handicaps rounded to the nearest whole number (0.5+ up). The player(s) with the lowest handicap(s) should always play as a scratch. Reduce the course handicaps of the higher handicap members by the handicap of the lowest member. Strokes should be allocated to holes according to scorecard rankings.
    • For example, assume that members with course handicaps of 5, 10, 16 and 30 are competing.
    • For the match, Member A (a 5 course handicap) would play at scratch. Members B (a 10), C (a 16) and D (a 30) would play with course handicaps of 5, 11 and 25, respectively. So Member B would receive one stroke on holes ranked 1-5. Member C would receive one stroke on holes ranked 1-11. Member D would receive two strokes on holes ranked 1-7 and one stroke on holes ranked 8-18 (to total 25).
    • Under the new World Handicap System, a secondary adjustment is no longer required for members playing from different tee boxes - just use course handicaps for each player according to tee boxes played for equitable competition (since par at Brown Deer is 71 from both the white and blue tees).
  • All deadlines must be met! Matches during club Majors are prohibited. 2024 deadlines for each round:
    • Opening Round (64 Teams) - May 27
    • Second Round - June 30
    • Sweet 16 - July 28
    • Great 8 - August 25
    • Final Four - September 22
    • Championship Match - October 14
  • All match deadlines must be met. If a deadline will be missed and one team has done everything possible to schedule a match while the other team has done very little, provide documentation such as emails and texts for review by Bob Cohn and Will Barrett. They will then make a determination. If a deadline passes without hearing from either team, both teams will be automatically disqualified - NO EXCEPTIONS. No extensions will be approved this year. Schedule your matches early!
  • Members must compete from their assigned tee box for the season. (Blue tees unless approved to play White or Gold - see Forward Tee Policy).
  • Matches must be played on a weekend at Brown Deer prior to due dates unless all players unanimously agree to play at another course and/or on a weekday.
  • USGA rules of golf for stroke play and any local rules apply. In the case of any disputes, check the rule book and seek guidance from the head pro if needed.
  • Any player without a current WSGA handicap index at the time of a match must compete as a scratch.
  • In the event of a tie after 18-holes, the following rules apply:
    • Members should request permission from the starter to play a sudden-death playoff starting on hole #1. If starting on hole #1 isn't feasible, the pro shop will attempt to suggest a different starting hole. Regardless of the starting hole as dictated by the pro shop, handicap strokes should again be allocated as they fall on the card.
    • If the above does not resolve the Match, it shall be considered a tie and the Match should be played over. A one-week grace period will be granted if necessary.
    • If the Match is still unresolved, the team with the lowest net team Medal Score for the initial 18 holes is the winner.
  • If a player is disabled prior to the first Match, another member may replace him. Once the first match is played, there can be no substitutions of players for any reason.

Past Champions

2023: Jerry Alberte & Mohammad Khan
2022: Mike Fischbach & William Sala
2021: Tom Bartell & Scott Steege
2020: Andy Landenberger & Joe Stadler
2019: Tom Bartell & Scott Steege
2018: Andy Landenberger & Joe Stadler
2017: Bruce Myslis & Chris Hoel
2016: Steve Koppel & Mike Youngman
2015: Mark Kotnour & Dan Litvinoff
2014: Bill Joy & Andrew LeTourneau
2013: Jay Cox & Steve Vaughan
2012: John Carlton & Rich Sell
2011: Mark Anderson & Erik Miller
2010: John Carlton & Rich Sell
2009: Dave Butzen & Trey Johnson
2008: Jerry Zimmerman & David Zimmerman
2007: Dan Daly & Dave Foley
2006: Kevin McQuide & Mark McQuide
2005: Tim Golden & Brian Grossman
2004: Tim Golden & Brian Grossman
2003: Perry Hendricks & Dave Zimmerman
2002: Andy Osowski & Andy Schuelke
2001: Eric Joy & Nate Joy
2000: Steve Boehme & Rich Sell
1999: Dennis Gorman & Ray Ruper
1998: Dave Wernicke & Tim Wainscott
1997: D. Kaehny & B. Halvorson
1996: A. Fischer & P. Bartlak
1995: J. Means & J. Carlton
1994: J. Zimmerman & G. Peterson
1993: K. Peterson & T. Kusch
1992: J. Zimmerman & G. Peterson
1991: D. Kreger & J. Kreger
1990: S. Ovelby & P Giddings